Welcome to the Fairfax Circuit Court’s
On-Line Marriage License Pre-Application

Marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of the Circuit Court. A couple may go to any
circuit court in Virginia to obtain a marriage license. There are no residency requirements.
Once you obtain the actual marriage license at the Clerk’s Office your license will be valid
for 60 calendar days and the marriage must take place in Virginia. There is no waiting
period and no blood test is required

For divorced persons, after the divorce is final, there is no statutory waiting period to
remarry unless remarriage is specifically prohibited by a court. A copy of the divorce
decree is not required when applying for a marriage license.

Both parties must appear before the clerk to obtain a license and must be 18 years of
age or older. Proof of age is required with valid photo identification such as a driver's
license, passport or military identification card.

Cost:

The fee is $30.00 payable by cash or credit card (Visa or MasterCard only with a 4%
processing fee).

Location:

Marriage licenses are issued by the Public Service Division of the Fairfax Circuit Court in
the Fairfax County Courthouse, located at 4110 Chain Bridge Road, Suite 116, Fairfax,
Virginia, 22030.

Telephone:

If you have any questions, please contact the Public Service Division of the Fairfax Circuit
Court at 703-691-7320 (press 3, 6, 1).

On-Line Marriage License Pre-Application Information:

To expedite the process, if you and your prospective spouse are 18 years of age or older,
you may complete the pre-application online.

Upon submission, you will receive a confirmation document via e-mail. Within the next 60
days, bring the confirmation document, valid photo identification and payment to the
Fairfax Circuit Court to obtain your marriage license.

You and your prospective spouse must appear together at the Public Service Division of
the Fairfax Circuit Court.



Minors:

Persons under 18 years of age cannot pre-apply for a marriage license on-line. For more
information, please contact the Public Service Division directly at 703-691-7320 (press 3,
6, 1).

Prohibited Marriages:

Pursuant to the 1950 Code of Virginia, as amended, the following marriages are
prohibited:

1. A marriage entered into prior to the dissolution of an earlier marriage of one
or both parties (§20-38.1).

2. A marriage between an ancestor and descendant; or between a brother and
a sister; or between an uncle and a niece; or between an aunt and a
nephew; whether the relationship is by half or the whole blood (§20-38.1).

3. A marriage when either of the parties lacked capacity because of mental
incapacity or infirmity to consent to the marriage at the time the marriage
was solemnized (§20-45.1(b)).

4. A marriage when either or both of the parties are under the age of 18 years
of age and have not been emancipated as required by §20-48.





